My Thoughts about Taipei

I have just moved to Taipei last weekend and I am going to share with you guys my initial thoughts about the place. Obviously, it’s going to be really different than just visiting but my comments will be mostly about my impressions of my first days here as a new city girl.

Taipei is a really good place in general. It is one of the safest places for women in the Asian country, so that’s a plus, right? The city is also a place where you can actually experience the hustle and bustle since it is the capital of the country. It is a good place all in all, so I am going to share with you guys my impressions about the place as a resident.

1. Food is expensive. Some of may totally disagree with this but before you say something, give me the chance to explain first. haha I used to live in Taoyuan City which is a rural area in Taiwan.  So, everything in Taoyuan is cheap like food, water, and rent. But now that I am living in the city, everything is much much more expensive.

If anyone plans to live in Taipei for a long term, definitely have to check your budget.

2. A little bit of old in the new. For me, when I first came to Taipei, I immediately noticed that the city is very modern. They have a lot of beautiful, tall buildings which implies that the architectural structures of the city are quite advanced. But what amazes me is that with all of this modernization, they still haven’t forgotten their historic side. They have still preserved old streets, museums, relics, temples which is very patriotic to me in a sense. I believe that a country who makes the current civilization remember their past experiences, all of the hardships, trials, joy, and pride that their ancestors have experienced will make them appreciate what their country has today.

3. Convenient Transportation System. One of the main reasons why I moved to Taipei is because of the convenient subway system (MRT). In the country, only Taipei and Kaohsiung have subways. As a city girl who came from Manila, Philippines and became a rural girl that moved to Taoyuan where there’s only buses, railway, and taxi makes me miss taking the subways. I just think that subways make commuting so easy!

4. Accommodating Taiwanese people. There is a saying in Taiwan that the best view in Taiwan is the people. I couldn’t agree more with that saying. The people who live in the country are very warm and helpful to foreigners. Although the country is not that proficient in English but they would pull our Google Translate just to help you.

Hope my observations and initial impressions of the country could help you if you plan to visit or settle in the country. Taiwan is a lovely country! Please do not hesitate to message me if you want more advice.

Love,

Caye

 

Leave a Reply

